National Doctors’ Day celebrated on July 1

On 1st July 2018, National Doctors’ Day was celebrated throughout India.
National Doctors’ Day:
i. In 1991, the Indian government declared July 1 as National Doctors day. This day marks the birth and death anniversary of the most famous physician of India Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy (Dr. B C Roy).
ii. Dr. B C Roy was born on 1st July 1882. He had received the Bharat Ratna Award in 1961. He was the second Chief Minister of West Bengal.
iii. Dr. B C Roy had played a major role in the formation of Indian Medical Association in 1928 and also in the formation of Medical Council of India (MCI).
iv. MCI had constituted the Bidhan Chandra Roy Award in 1976 in the memory of Dr. B C Roy.
v. National Doctors’ Day highlights the role of doctors in our lives and values their contributions to the society.
vi. The Indian Medical Association (IMA) has declared the theme for Doctors’ Day 2018 as: ‘zero tolerance to violence against doctors and clinical establishment’.
vii. IMA has also decided to observed July 1 to 8 as ‘Safe Fraternity Week’.
About Indian Medical Association (IMA):
♦ National President – Dr Ravi Wankhedkar
♦ Headquarters – New Delhi

International Joke Day celebrated on July 1

On 1st July 2018, International Joke Day was celebrated all over the world.
International Joke Day:
i. International Joke Day is celebrated every year on 1st July.
ii. International Joke Day is said to have officially started in the United States. The first joke is often attributed to the Greeks.

1st July 2018 celebrated as ‘GST day’

On 1st July 2018, Indian Government celebrated the 1st Anniversary of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) as GST day.

  • GST day – July 1:

i. GST was launched on the 1st July 2017 at a grand ceremony in the Central Hall of Parliament.
ii. Union Minister for Railways, Coal, Finance & Corporate Affairs Piyush Goyal presided over as the Chief Guest of the event. Minister of State for Finance, Shiv Pratap Shukla was the Guest of Honour.
iii. The Constitution (122nd Amendment) Bill, 2014 was introduced in the Parliament on 19th December 2014. It was enacted as Constitution (101st Amendment) Act, 2016.
iv. The Goods and Services Tax (GST) Council was notified with effect from 12th September 2016.
v. The GST Council consists of the Union Finance Minister as Chairman, the Minister of State (Revenue) and the State Finance/Taxation Ministers as members.
vi. The council makes recommendations to the Union and the States on all GST related issues. The Council has met 27 times so far.
vii. Four Laws called CGST Act, UTGST Act, IGST Act and GST (Compensation to States) Act were passed by the Parliament and were notified on 12th April 2017.
viii. All the other States (except Jammu & Kashmir) and Union territories with legislature have passed their respective SGST Acts.
ix. On 8th July 2017, Jammu and Kashmir also passed the SGST Act and the Central Government also extended the CGST Act to Jammu and Kashmir.
x. Under this model, tax is levied concurrently by the Centre and States on a common base – supply of goods or services or both.
xi. GST levied by the Centre is called Central GST (Central tax / CGST). GST levied by the States is called State GST (State Tax / SGST).
xii. State GST (State Tax / SGST) is called UTGST (Union territory tax) in Union Territories without legislature.
xiii. CGST & SGST / UTGST is levied on all taxable intra-State supplies. Inter-State supply of goods or services is subjected to Integrated GST (Integrated tax / IGST).
xiv. IGST enables the Centre to levy IGST (Integrated Goods and Service Tax) that is CGST plus SGST, on all inter-State supply of goods or services or both.

  • About About Central Board of Indirect taxes and Customs (CBIC):

♦ Chairman – S. Ramesh
♦ Headquarters – New Delhi

Hockey Champions Trophy Final: Australia clinched their 15th Champions Trophy title

Hockey Champions Trophy 2018 Final: India finish runners up after losing 1-3 to Australia in shootout

About Hocky Champions Trophy

The Hockey Champions Trophy (HCT) is an international field hockey tournament held by the International Hockey Federation (IHF). Founded in 1978 by Pakistan's Air Marshal Nur Khan and the Pakistan Hockey Federation, it features the world's top-ranked field hockeyteams competing in a round robin format. A biennial women's tournament was added in 1987. The Champions Trophy was changed from an annual to a biennial event from 2014 onwards, due to the introduction of the Hockey World League (HWL). The 2018 edition will be the last edition of the Champions Trophy and the tournament will be replaced by the Hockey Pro League (HPL) in 2019.